You are using the MBTI 16 personalities system wrong…. by Xandrieth Xs….

You are using the MBTI 16 personalities system wrong….

Xandrieth Xs
3 min readFeb 13, 2023

In case you don’t know:
The MBTI 16 personalities system is a grouping system based on the works of psychiatrist Carl Gustav Jung. It proposes 4 major characteristics with two alternative routes for each, making a total variable set of 16 personality types….

But just like everything else, people often misuse this method of categorizing human personalities. And to their detriment. Methods like these exist to help you understand your possible strengths and weaknesses. The goal is to help you work on your shortcomings and better utilize your strengths….

But instead, people often box themselves into the stereotypes of one of the 16 personalities they get labelled as. Instead of working on the weaknesses or negative aspects of the personality type they have, people often use the label as an excuse for those traits….

Have you ever heard someone say, “I’m not a *insert toxic trait*, I’m just a *insert zodiac sign*!”…?

Yeah, that’s the problem I’m talking about….

The introvert excuse by Xandrieth Xs….

I’m an introvert myself and that comes with its pros and cons….

One of the problems that come with being an introvert is hating and sucking at small talk. You can’t do anything about the fact that you’ll get mentally tired after talking to a few people. But you can do something about sucking at them….

No matter how much you hate them, you can’t deny that they are an essential part of everyday life. You can’t deny that although you don’t have to like them, you need to be better at them. These are important skills and you’ll never be good enough at them unless you stop hiding behind the label of “introversion” as an excuse….

Why I write by Xandrieth Xs….

As an INFJ, I have good intuition and observation. But I’m not that good at spontaneous in-person conversations….

I’m good at contributing to a conversation on pretty much any topic. But by the time I am ready to contribute, the conversation usually has already moved on to a new topic. I can’t speak just for the sake of speaking. I prefer collecting my thoughts to form an educated opinion that contributes to the conversation or topic at hand. I hate the idea of speaking something inconsequential like a roll call and moving on. But spontaneous conversations, especially in groups, rarely give that opportunity….

Writing, on the other hand, does….

Hence, I write…!

Exploring Beyond the Superficial book by Xandrieth Xs….

Get the full story from the ebook. You can have a look and download it here: https://xandriethxs.gumroad.com/l/EBTSv01

First 41 people to use the code “XandyFirst41” gets 41% off….

--

--

Xandrieth Xs

A veracious empath exploring Beyond the Superficial....